Young artists harness their talent

BUDDING young artists are being given the chance to showcase their talent and creativity at the inaugural Clarence Future Artists Prize exhibition.

The Prize, presented by Clarence City Council, is a showcase of exceptional young artists from grades 11 and 12 in southern Tasmania and is now on show in Rosny Barn until 29 September.

At an awards ceremony held earlier this month, Riley-Jack Murtagh-Linnell from Claremont College was announced the winner of the $1000 Future Artists Prize for his digital work ‘Yesn’t’.

The winning piece generated the most conversation and questions between the judging panel, with the judges commenting that Riley-Jack’s work was an “utterly engaging work that revealed itself slowly” and that despite its simple means, the work’s high production values “made for a compelling experience.”

Two highly commended awards of $500 were made to Jocelyn Wong from The Friends School for her painting ‘Untitled’ and Isabelle Ward from Elizabeth College for her digital image titled ‘Moderate’.

“With the inaugural Future Artists Prize, we are aiming to empower our young people to create with purpose and harness their skills to generate change in their lives and their communities,” Clarence Mayor Doug Chipman said.

The Prize was judged by leading local artists and industry representatives Dr Steven Carson and Dr Megan Walch, who commented on the variety and quality of the entries received for this inaugural exhibition.

Caption: From left, Clare Latham, guest speaker, Rosny College performing arts teacher and ambassador for 150th anniversary of public education in Tasmania with winner Riley-Jack Murtagh-Linnell, highly commended Jocelyn Wong and Isabelle Ward and Clarence Acting Mayor Heather Chong.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Eastern Shore Sun

The Eastern Shore Sun is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 30,000 homes and businesses in the communities of Clarence and Sorell. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top