Tasmanian International One Metre Championship 2015

By the Risdon Brook Radio Yachting Club

THE annual radio yachting Tasmanian International One Metre (IOM) State Championship was held at Risdon Brook Dam last month.

Conditions on day one (Saturday 14 November) were rather bleak with grey skies, light southerly winds and forecast showers.

Les Hanson volunteered his services as principal race officer for the weekend and ran the event efficiently and with authority.

Thirteen skippers were entered and a day of close racing was ahead.

Previous multiple state champion Michael Hickman showed early dominance with two wins, and returning skipper Mat Gray, with a borrowed boat, was on the podium for the first four races, including a win.

Rod Jackman was sailing well in the variable conditions with a win and a couple of podiums.

Ray Joyce found the groove in the afternoon with three wins, Stuart Dawes with a couple and Lisa Blackwood, also with a borrowed boat, enjoyed a win as well.

With 12 races completed for day one, Mat Gray held a comfortable six-point lead from Michael Hickman on 37 points, two points ahead of Rod Jackman in third place on 39 points.

Day two (Sunday 15 November) came around and what a difference in weather.

It was a fantastic day with clear sunny skies and a light northerly to five to eight knots, with plenty of shifts and the usual odd hole or two.

The possibility of a sea breeze was also on the cards in the afternoon.

In the first six races before lunch there were six different winners and no one really showing any dominance, although Mat Gray was sailing consistently well enough to extend his lead to nine points ahead of Michael Hickman, who was four points ahead of Rod Jackman in third place overall.

The sea breeze finally arrived after lunch and with a course change, the final session was sailed in good breeze with enough passing lanes to make racing interesting.

There were nine different winners for the 13 races completed on day two.

Peter Darcy won the afternoon with three wins, Lisa and Michael had a couple of wins each, David Jones, Ray Joyce, Chris Wood, Mat Gray and Stuart Dawes also notching up wins.

After 25 races the final standings went down to the wire with Mat Gray taking the title by just one point from a charging Michael Hickman in second place.

Rod Jackman was the “best of the rest” – 18 points adrift in third place overall.

Congratulations to Mat Gray, who was crowned the Tasmanian IOM State Champion for 2015.

For any radio yachting enquires please contact Ray Joyce on email rjoycephoto@icloud.com or visit www.risdonbrookradioyachtclub.com

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Eastern Shore Sun

The Eastern Shore Sun is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 30,000 homes and businesses in the communities of Clarence and Sorell. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top