Surfers battle it out on the waves

SOME of the state’s best surfers battled it out at a South Arm beach in the 2020/21 Nudie Australian Boardrider Battle (ABB) teams qualifying event.

The Clifton Beach based South Arm Boardriders team carved up the waves at the ‘RSL’ location at the southern end of Hope Beach, retaining the championship crown.

The team of Luke Bugg, Matt Kennedy, Rudy Davis, Lizzy Stokely, Toby Lawrence and Noah Hassett made the most of the one to one-and-a-half-metre lefts and rights at the beach break to beat Penguin based North West Boardriders Club and Park Beach Boardriders from Dodges Ferry.

South Arm Boardriders finished on 38.4 points, North West Boardriders on 23.5 points and Park Beach Boardriders on 14.3 points.

South Arm Boardriders topped off its team victory with local gun Rudy Davis taking home the Oakley Prize Performance Award with an average of 8.8.

The Nudie ABB event features club teams made up of five surfers, with one junior, one female, two open surfers and one over 35.

The winner of the Nudie ABB travels to Newcastle in February to compete in the national final.

The Woolworths Surfer Groms event will be held at Clifton Beach on Saturday 31 October.

Surfer Gloms is a popular Surfing Australia national series event designed for kids and teenagers in under eights, under 10s, under 12s, under 14s and under 16s.

While having a competition aspect, its main aim is to provide kids with a fun beach and surf event.

The entry fee is $55, with kids receiving entry to two divisions, free sponsor products, a barbecue and drinks, a free learn to surf lesson from Coastrider or skills development from Surfing Tasmania coaches, and free beach games.

To enter, visit https://www.surfingaustralia.com/SurfingTasmania/events.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Eastern Shore Sun

The Eastern Shore Sun is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 30,000 homes and businesses in the communities of Clarence and Sorell. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top