Students recognised for efforts in community

FIVE primary school students from the Eastern Shore have been rewarded for their compassionate nature and desire to help others in Tasmania’s inaugural Fred Hollows Humanity Awards.

The award recipients were Montanna Jacques from Warrane Primary School, Jasper Reilly and Tomas Pears from John Paul II Catholic School, and Erin Cottuli and Evangeline Roberts from Emmanuel Christian School.

The students were joined by 24 other young Tasmanians at the awards ceremony, which was held at Parliament House in Hobart on 27 September.

Fred Hollows Foundation founding director Gabi Hollows said the response to the 2016 awards had been “incredible”, with children from 22 schools across Tasmania nominated for the accolade.

The awards recognise year six students who follow in Fred Hollows’ footsteps by showing care and compassion for others.

“It was wonderful to meet so many young people making a positive difference in their communities,” she said.

“The ideas and endless energy that young people exhibit continues to inspire me, and Fred would have been incredibly proud that the foundation has inspired young students to dream big and help others.”

Year six student Montanna Jacques was one of four students to receive a special mention during the ceremony.

With a number of refugee students joining Warrane Primary in the past two-years, Montanna has worked hard to make them feel part of the school community.

Her teacher, Mary Holton, nominated Montanna for the award and said she was a “great help” with setting and

packing up for pre-school programs, “always without being asked or expecting anything in return.”

Premier Will Hodgman, who presented the awards at the event, said Fed Hollows was an inspiration to all Australians.

“Through these awards and the outstanding work of The Fred Hollows Foundation, his legacy lives on and is changing lives for the better,” he said.

Logan Atkinson, from Summerdale Primary School in Launceston, was selected as the Tasmanian Junior Ambassador and chose to allocate the $5000, which was donated by Specsavers, to the Outback Eye Service.

The Fred Hollows Humanity Awards will return to Tasmania in 2017.

For more information, visit www.hollows.org/humanityaward.

Caption: Montanna Jacques from Warrane Primary School with Fred Hollows Foundation founding director Gabi Hollows and Premier Will Hodgman. Image courtesy of The Fred Hollows Foundation.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Eastern Shore Sun

The Eastern Shore Sun is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 30,000 homes and businesses in the communities of Clarence and Sorell. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top