Rosny College graduate awarded TasWater scholarship

OAKDOWNS resident and future engineer Jenna Farrow is this year’s recipient of TasWater’s prestigious Steve Balcombe scholarship.

Jenna completed year 12 at Rosny College in 2017 and has just begun her first semester at the University of Tasmania.

The Steve Balcombe Scholarship is offered by TasWater to support a student studying in an area relevant to the water industry.

The scholarship will provide Ms Farrow with $3000 for each year of her Bachelor of Engineering degree, as well as professional and mentoring support with work placements.

She will also be offered employment in a graduate position at TasWater at the end of her study.

Ms Farrow, who was selected from 60 applicants, said she was passionate about mathematics and was keen to explore all areas of engineering.

“My aim though is to head towards developing my career in the area of civil engineering as I enjoy its focus not only on the design and construction work, but also the important area of maintenance of structures,” she said.

“The scholarship is also great as it will help ease the significant financial obligation of university, enabling me to focus completely on my studies.”

Ms Farrow is also passionate about playing and coaching sport and has represented Clarence in football and cricket, as well as being involved with Make a Wish Foundation fundraising, while also holding down a retail job.

TasWater chief executive officer Michael Brewster congratulated Ms Farrow on her achievements.

He said the Steve Balcombe Scholarship was central to TasWater’s commitment to encouraging and developing career paths for young water industry professionals.

“Recipients are offered insight and experience in the water industry and take part in developing real projects with real outcomes,” he said.

“The scholarship is one more way TasWater is ensuring Tasmania has the skills necessary to develop a long-term sustainable water and sewage sector to service the community and protect the environment.”

Mr Brewster said TasWater was very pleased to offer ongoing support for the scholarship, which is now in its 18th year, honouring Steve Balcombe.

Mr Balcombe, who was the inaugural chairman of Hobart Water, had a distinguished career in both the public and private sectors in Tasmania before his premature death in 2001.

He was an engineering graduate from the University of Tasmania and played a pioneering role in developing the water industry in the state.

Caption: From left, TasWater chief executive officer Michael Brewster, Rebecca Cuthill from the University of Tasmania, scholarship winner Jenna Farrow and TasWater chairman Miles Hampton.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Eastern Shore Sun

The Eastern Shore Sun is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 30,000 homes and businesses in the communities of Clarence and Sorell. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top