Council launches No Spray Register

LOCAL residents will now have the option to be excluded from roadside herbicide spraying with the introduction of Clarence City Council’s No Spray Register.

Under the ‘Local Government (Local Highways) Act 1982’, council is responsible for the management of weeds and vegetation within its road reserves.

Clarence City Council Mayor Alderman Doug Chipman said council used several methods to manage weeds and vegetation including mowing, manual removal and the use of chemical herbicides.

“In rural and semi-rural areas, herbicide spraying is an integrated component of the rural verge mowing program, and in urban areas it is used to manage undesirable vegetation to help maintain our city’s gutters, kerbs and footpaths,” he said.

“The introduction of the No Spray Register means that residents who do not want herbicides sprayed on the council-maintained road reserves in front or alongside their properties can apply for the areas to be marked as a no spray zone.

“This register is a great new asset for our community and we invite residents wishing to be placed on the register to submit their applications now.”

To be placed on the No Spray Register, applicants must take responsibility for the management of the weeds and vegetation in the no spray area and must submit a plan of how they intend to do so as part of their application.

No spray areas will be clearly identified by orange markers placed at each end of the zone.

Applications for the No Spray Register are open until 30 November 2020.

Successful applicants will be added to the register for an initial trial period ending June 2022, after which they must renew their application.

For more information about the No Spray Register or to apply, visit www.ccc.tas.gov.au/no-spray-register.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Eastern Shore Sun

The Eastern Shore Sun is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 30,000 homes and businesses in the communities of Clarence and Sorell. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top