Comfortable return for Collins in Franklin

INCUMBENT Federal Labor MHR Julie Collins has retained her seat after the recent 2016 federal election.

Ms Collins, who secured her fourth term as Labor MP for Franklin, won 47.60 per cent of the vote to beat Liberal candidate Amanda-Sue Markham (35.04 per cent) and Greens candidate Martine Delaney (13.08 per cent).

Ms Collins said she was humbled and privileged to have been re-elected to represent the people of Franklin in the federal parliament.

“Voters across Tasmania resoundingly voted in support of Labor’s Positive Plan because they want to be represented by people who will stand up for Tasmania,” she said.

Ms Collins will be joined in the House of Representatives by three new Tasmanian Labor MPs – Ross Hart in Bass, Justine Keay in Braddon and Brian Mitchell in Lyons.

“This election was about the community and the Tasmanian community chose the plan that put them first,” Ms Collins said.

“The Tasmanian community voted against an increase in the cost to prescription medication, cuts to bulk-billing incentives for x-rays and blood tests and a freeze on the GP rebate and they voted for Labor’s funding offer for hospitals,” she said.

Ms Collins said she would work hard to address the issues that continued to be raised by residents and to provide “lasting solutions” for Tasmania.

“I will work hard to deliver the critical investment Tasmanians want like $32 million for the Hobart Airport roundabout upgrade and returning the $100 million cut from the Midland Highway upgrades,” she said.

“I will fight alongside my newly elected Labor colleagues in Tasmania to ensure the Gonski reforms that our schools and our children deserve become a reality.

“I will stand up for Tasmania and Franklin every day and I will fight to ensure the federal government delivers on the plan Tasmanians want.”

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Eastern Shore Sun

The Eastern Shore Sun is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 30,000 homes and businesses in the communities of Clarence and Sorell. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

Leave A Comment

What’s new?

Go to Top