Clarence welcomes new council

ALL 12 councillors have been confirmed for the Clarence City Council following the 2022 Local Government Elections, with Brendan Blomeley elected Mayor and Allison Ritchie Deputy Mayor.

Mayor Elect Blomeley congratulated all successful new and returning Councillors and said he was honoured to be given the opportunity to work alongside them over the next four years.

“It’s been a privilege to serve my community over the last four years and I am looking forward to leading this new iteration of council as we tackle some big challenges and some big opportunities for our region in the coming years,” he said.

“It is fantastic to see fresh faces, blended in with re-elected Councillors around the table, and I believe what we can achieve will be truly great for our city.

“I congratulate Allison Ritchie for her election to Deputy Mayor Elect, and look forward to working alongside her over the next four years.

“I look forward to working with both new and returning elected members in a cohesive and collaborative way, for the benefit of all in our community.

“On behalf of Clarence City Council, and the community we serve, I would also like to extend gratitude to all candidates who ran in this election.

“I would particularly like to make note of the contributions of outgoing councillors Sharyn Von Bertouch, who has passionately served our community for 15 years on council, and John Peers, who has contributed 34 years of continuous service to our city.

“They are both immense contributions and our city will remain forever in their debt.”

Outgoing Mayor Doug Chipman said he wished Mayor Elect Blomeley all the best for this coming term and said he believed the council was in safe hands.

“Brendan has a strong vision for the growth of our city and I wish him and the whole council well,” he said.


Elected Councillors for Clarence:

Brendan Blomeley (Mayor)

Allison Ritchie (Deputy Mayor)

Tony Mulder

Heather Chong

Wendy Kennedy

Beth Warren

Bree Hunter

Jade Darko

Daniel Hulme

Richard James

James Walker

Emma Goyne

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Eastern Shore Sun

The Eastern Shore Sun is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 30,000 homes and businesses in the communities of Clarence and Sorell. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top