Award for Deputy Mayor

THE Clarence City Council would like to congratulate Deputy Mayor Heather Chong for her accolade in the Tasplan International Women’s Day Awards for Excellence 2020.

Alderman Chong was announced as winner of the Local Government “Inspirational Leader” award last month for more than 10 years of significant service and leadership in the Clarence community.

The awards were designed to recognise and give visibility to outstanding contributions by women in local government, the Tasmanian state service and the community sector, with winners announced at a luncheon in early March.

Alderman Chong has repeatedly shown her commitment to breaking down the barriers for women in both local government and the wider community.

First elected to the Clarence Council in 2009, she was made Deputy Mayor of Clarence in 2018.

Deputy Mayor Chong said she was delighted that women were being recognised for their many contributions to local government.

“It’s a huge honour to have won this award and be counted alongside a number of other very worthwhile peers,” she said.

“I hope that younger women in our community see these awards and get involved in the leadership of Clarence.”

Alderman Chong was the first female chair of the National Summerfruit Australia and has won both the Telstra Tasmania Business Woman of the Year and the Tasmanian Rural Woman of the Year.

She is also a long-term member of ALGWA, supporting women in local government through mentoring sessions and encouraging women to stand for election through the WomenCAN program.

Clarence City Council Mayor Doug Chipman said Alderman Chong was a great example for others in her community.

“Heather is greatly respected by both her peers and the wider community for her many leadership roles,” Mayor Chipman said.

“I congratulate her on this well-deserved award, and I would also like to publicly thank her for countless and ongoing contributions to the municipality of Clarence.”

Caption: From left, Naomi Edwards (Tasplan), Local Government Association Tasmania president Christina Holmdahl, Clarence City Council Deputy Mayor Heather Chong, Katrena Stephenson (LGAT) and Liberal Member for Franklin Jacquie Petrusma.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Eastern Shore Sun

The Eastern Shore Sun is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 30,000 homes and businesses in the communities of Clarence and Sorell. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top