100-years of local footy for OHA

LOCAL footy club OHA has reason to celebrate this year, marking the centenary season of wearing its blue, green and red guernsey.

OHA Football Club, known as “The Ships”, was founded in 1919 as the Old Scholars Football Club of the Hobart High School.

The club moved to its current home at Geilston Bay after the high school closed down.

The club has since won 13 seniors premierships, five reserve premierships and were state premiers in 1967, 1969 and 1972.

OHA Football Club president Tim Carter said the club was “extremely proud” to have played 100 seasons, despite the struggles it faced without a junior pathway to senior ranks.

“Our small committee and band of volunteers work tirelessly every season,” he said.

“To reach this milestone is a testament to the efforts that these men and women put in behind the scenes.

“We have had many improvements that have helped shape the OHA Football Club into what it is today, a family friendly and inclusive community experience.”

To highlight 100-years of operation, the club will hold a dinner at the Elwick Function Centre in May.

The evening will consist of interviews with past premiership coaches, ‘On the Couch’ with a special guest as well as entertainment, silent auctions and memorabilia sales.

Anyone associated with the club (past and present players, members, supporters, sponsors, volunteers) is invited to attend the dinner.

The event will be held on 12 May at 7.30pm.

Tickets are $150 per person and include a two-course dinner and drinks.

To book, visit https://ohafootballclub.wordpress.com/century-celebrations-100-years-of-oha/.

Caption: From left, Tim Carter (club president), Michael Bannister (club legend), Brodie Langford (current playing coach) and Stan Cook (club legend).

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Eastern Shore Sun

The Eastern Shore Sun is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 30,000 homes and businesses in the communities of Clarence and Sorell. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top